October 18, 2009

Craigslist Deals Galore! Stuff I’ve Scored (And You Can, Too!)

Posted in Deals, Personalizing Your Wedding, Wedding Design tagged , , , at 1:05 am by Elizabeth Nixon

I’ve had some interest from friends and fellow brides on my wedding spending and finding good deals. I’ve scored big time on the classifieds on Wedding Bee, The Knot’s Trash-to-Treasure board, and Craigslist. Why, just last weekend, my dear cousin and bridesmaid picked up another 40 cylinder vases (I have about 200 more!) for my centerpieces that I found for a steal on Wedding Bee.

Some of my favorite finds?

Antique Spanish-style candelabra, with six LED flickering candles, Craigslist $35 Photo: Personal photo

Shepherds Hooks, Craigslist $40 Photo: Style Me Pretty

15 gorgeous white moroccan lanterns, Wedding Bee for $7 each Photo: Z Gallery

Sexy Little Bride Hoodie, Craigslist $20 Photo: Victoria's Secret

Probably the best deal I got was finding four gimongous glass beverage dispensers on Craigslist and paying $20 for each when they’re worth $100 each. I lucked out–the very first day I decided I wanted these at my wedding, I searched CL and found one! Then I found two more from a bride, and then one more off CL for a complete set of four:

Italian Glass Beverage Jar Photo: Infusionjars.com

And finally, probably my favorite find, my veil, purchased from Wedding Bee for $150. This was the veil designer I fell in love with at my first bridal salon visit. Jennifer Leigh. I just think she makes the prettiest veils, but they are so expensive! This one is cathedral length, edged in fine silver thread and embellished with freshwater pearls and rhinestones ever-so-delicately on the edges.

Jennifer Leigh Corby Veil, Wedding Bee $150 Photo: Jenniferleighveils.com

My advice if you want to scour Craigslist: You CAN get some great deals and save a TON of money–just start EARLY. Over the past year, I’ve saved about $10,000 on decorations, centerpieces and lots of other wedding things. Keep your eyes peeled for a post on my (currently ongoing) wedding budget breakdown to get the dirty deets. 🙂 Happy hunting!

Leave a Reply

