March 13, 2010

Lace-Covered Candles and Warm Wollen Mittens!

Posted in DIY Projects at 10:03 pm by Elizabeth Nixon

As I work on wedding projects, I sometimes change the lyrics to My Favorite Things from The Sound of Music and belt it out for a little self-made background music to all my crafting:

“…lace-covered candles and pink-colored parasols, signature cocktails and birch-bark flower vases, these are a few of my favorite things!”

My lyrics can get a little wordy.

“Blue-colored mason jars and crisply-ironed table runners, pale aqua favor boxes and milk glass cake pedestals, cream-colored macaroons stacked up in tiers, these are a few of my favorite things!”

OK, a lot wordy. And it usually doesn’t rhyme. But it helps me slog through my seemingly endless to-do list of DIY projects.

Lately I’ve been focusing on the lace-covered candles, inspired by these lovely things made by wedding planner extraordinaire Beth Helmstetter:

Photo by Jose Villa

Beth has a tutorial to show you step-by-step how it’s done!

My way of doing it was a little different. I ordered lace fabric super cheap online. I ordered a 10-inch eyelet design, so I knew I would have a continuous eyelet pattern whether I was covering 4-inch vases, or 10-inch tall vases. Then I cut out pieces according to the sizes of the glass cylinders I’d collected:

I love that the 10-inch long eyelet pattern means I have a lovely scalloped edge for each glass cylinder, and I don’t have to worry about finishing or folding over the edges.

Being a very impatient person, I didn’t bother to run to Michaels to buy spray adhesive for the fabric. I just busted out some old glue sticks and rolled it all over each fabric piece.

Then I put it on the cylinder at one end and carefully rolled the cylinder until it was completely covered in the fabric. Next, I smoothed out any bubbles and set it aside to dry. This project went surprisingly quickly. I tried to do about eight per night for a couple of weeks straight. I’ve lost count of how many I’ve done at this point. It’s more than 150. I have about 50 left to go.

I can’t wait to see how they look with hundreds of ’em lined up on super long tables. They’ll be grouped together along with dozens of small tealight votives, and interspersed ever so often with birch-covered vases full of home grown flowers by mamma Paisley.

Stay tuned for a tutorial on how to make birch-covered vases!

Leave a Reply

