May 22, 2010

Ribbons, Ribbons Everywhere!

Posted in DIY Projects at 5:47 pm by Elizabeth Nixon

What could be more delightful, more youthful, more whimsical, than ribbons dancing in the breeze?

Ribbons entered my design scheme purely as a solution to a tricky problem (more on that later), but I’m so glad they did.

Revel in their prettiness:

Source

Source

Source

Source

Love the ribbons on chairs!

Source

Wow, can you imagine tying more than a dozen ribbons onto each folding chair at your wedding?! Incredible!

I wish I could say I was doing that, but no, I came upon the idea of ribbons when my Moroccan lanterns needed some extra oomph and height. They looked kind of small and silly hanging from the HUGE 80+ inch shepherd’s hooks:

Alas, the hooks are in NorCal and I am in SoCal, so the tree has to be the stand in for the hooks for now. But I tried it on the hook up north, and the ribbons definitely solved the problem. The proportions between the massive hook and the smallish lantern are now relative.

These aren’t the final colors, just a trial using ribbons I had here so I could show you some pictures!

I shopped for ribbons in our wedding colors, and got several shades of peach and dusty rose, that match the roses on our invitations:

At first, I had trouble finding ribbon. I tried Michaels, Jo-Ann’s and Paper Source, but couldn’t find double-faced satin in our colors. So, I turned to one of my favorite florists, Martha Andrews, for help.

I’d admired Andrews’ work on Style Me Pretty, and noticed the beautiful colors of ribbon she used to tie around bouquets.

I lucked out when she quickly emailed me back with a couple of her sources, which I will share with the hive:

Lawrence Schiff Silk Mills, and Midori.

Unfortunately, you have to have a business license or resale number to order from the first one. Luckily, I have a connection there, and scored with their 75 percent-off-10-yard-spools-sale they’re having right now. Since I don’t have a florist (we’re DIYers there…smaaaart, I know) I didn’t have one to order ribbon through, but most of you can do that if you want to take advantage of the wholesale prices your florist can access!

I love how they look flying every which way in the wind!

Do you love ribbons in wedding decor, or does it remind you too much of May poles? Or perhaps this?

Leave a Reply

